Chasing in Cycles

I’m racing in a velodrome. And there’s the challenge of building on strength, on speed. But the ending is the beginning. There’s the uncertainty of losing balance on the next lap and on the next and on the next. I’m blinded by the knowledge of the unknown competitors, an unknown competition.

What is my standing?

I pedal on, my focus wavering. The track serves as a distraction. Every line, bump and unevenness already in memory. The breeze is refreshing. But is there more room to endure another lap? 

I fear that the end of this maybe beyond this track. Or that I’m already way past it, no one even noticed. 

About mfushidara

I am not Japanese. It is just a pen name.

Leave a Reply

